An Open Letter to Ford/Mercury

Dear Ford (and Mercury too),

I’m in the market for a new car and decided I kind of liked the hybrids you’re offering.  Now, due to the styling I like the Mercury Mariner better than the Escape.  I’m sure that’s ok since it costs more.  Like most Americans, when I go car shopping the first thing I want to do is drive the car.  This is especially true of a hybrid vehicle.  My wife and I recently shopped the Prius and the Civic hybrids and the way they drove made us decide on the Civic (like a real car instead of a semi-retarded space egg).

However, when I called my local Mercury dealerI was told that there were no Mariner Hybrids on the lot, nor would there ever be. I was told I could order one if I wanted.  Now, silly me but this doesn’t feel like a company that has a strong comittment to its hybrid technology.

I wrote Ford and two days later got this canned response back…

— 

Dear Martin,

Thank you for contacting the Ford Motor Company Customer Relationship
Center regarding your interest in purchasing a
Mercury Mariner Hybrid.

Please be advised that if you would like to purchase a new vehicle
directly from the assembly plant, we recommend you to contact our Marketing
Department at:

Mercury:
1-(888)-566-8888

Moreover, please be advised that the Sales Department of your local
dealership is in the best position to advise you of vehicle pricing or
availability.  Ford and Lincoln-Mercury dealerships are independently
owned and operated and as such, set their own prices for vehicle sales.  To
locate a Ford or Lincoln-Mercury dealership, please visit:

If you have any other inquiries, please feel free to contact us and we
will be happy to address them for you.

Sincerely,
Phebe
Customer Relationship Center
Ford Motor Company

So, the factory can’t tell the dealers to carry the hybrids but the dealers claim they’re not shipped any to carry.  Sounds like a load of bullshit to me.  Needless to say, I won’t be buying a Ford or Mercury product, despite my willingness to consider an American manufacturer after years of avoiding them like the plague.  Kudos Ford, way to drive away a customer.

Sincerely,

Mr. Bitter

5 responses to “An Open Letter to Ford/Mercury

  1. Mr. Bitter,
    I know exactly how you feel. My wife and I recently went through the same torture to get a Escape Hybrid. All the dealers were hamstrung by the manufacturer, at least that is what their story was.

    http://www.counterfeitgirlscoutcookies.com/dear-ford-why-cant-i-buy-car-you

    In the end I ordered the truck with the options that I want, but it took me 2 weeks to find a dealer that was willing to work for my money and help me get the truck that my wife and I really want. You can bet that if Honda or Toyota made a competing product, Ford would have most likely lost our business.

  2. I’ve written the Ford/Mercury option off completely. I’m going Japanese

  3. Pingback: SUVs from Motorweblog.info » Blog Archive » An Open Letter to Ford/Mercury

  4. Installed the head of the cell, and the average rear head lowered to improve the review earlier…

  5. All done inside the office convenient and useful, with lots of hooks and brackets to accommodate any goods.