My Dog Ate My Homework

Does anyone else get the feeling that John McCain’s call to delay Friday night’s debate is akin to a 10 year old trying to squirm his way out of a test because it snowed, he has a stomach ache, his dog ate his homework, etc? I totally understand the desire to go fix the economy, but how about having a discussion as to your plan should you be elected? I believe that We the People deserve to hear the two men attempting to win the election discuss the merits of their economic plans.

This country is in the middle of an economic crisis, however that doesn’t mean we need to stop the electoral process. We’ve had elections during wars, depressions, social upheaval, etc. The whole point of a stable democracy is that it all carries on (including the debate) despite whatever else may be happening. I’m not suggesting that McCain is trying to put off the election, but I do think he’s trying to hide how unprepared he is to debate on the economy or any other issue.

2 responses to “My Dog Ate My Homework

  1. averageuscitizen

    Obama’s response to McCain balking at the debate is the reason I’m voting for Obama.

    He said something akin to “A President is required to deal with more than one thing at a time, I think that we should proceed with the debate”.

    Well put Senator Obama.

    For a man who thinks that Government is the problem, McCain sure likes being in it.