Dear Microsoft

Dear Microsoft,

How in the world did you become such a big, powerful company that is present in so many lives?  My complaints today center around Outlook and contacts. I wanted to export my contacts to my Gmail.  Really I had two motivations, using them elsewhere and backing them up. This seems like a really simple task that should take no time.

Apparently I had to download four (4) pieces of software in order to do this. This took me about 45 minutes because the process was not intuitive AND I made the mistake of having two dialog boxes open which brought an immediate halt to one of the downloads. Additionally, I had to find the original disk to do so.

Once I had done this, the file I created was essentially an Excel file that looked like a mess.  I was worried it was going to be a total disaster, but figured that I wasn’t using my Gmail contacts anyway, so I could always wipe them and start fresh.

This is where your competition REALLY made you look bad.  Google took the file, sorted it alphabetically (which for some reason Outlook won’t do if I have the contacts sorted by category), kept the categories I had, merged information where appropriate, and allowed me to search by any term within any of the fields.  The entire process took 45 seconds.

To recap… Microsoft slow, complicated, difficult.  Google fast, easy, intuitive, and organized. While Google contacts lack one or two features, my contacts are now in Gmail and Google Voice. I bet when I add Google Wave that they’ll automagically appear there too.

So this is my break up letter. Sure I have to use you for somethings but I’m going to actively seek out alternatives whenever I can. I’m looking forward to the day where my life is Microsoft-free (especially since you’ve decided to start screwing with the layout of Office).

Signed,

Me

2 responses to “Dear Microsoft

  1. I feel so free since I removed Microsoft from my life. Sure, the breakup was hard, and there are still lingering attachments, but no more Office, no more Outlook, no more SharePoint — life is much better without them!

  2. Pingback: Microsoft in the morning news + support your local bookshop « Blog, by Shannon